Bears safety Dave Duerson Suicide

As a New England Patriot fan, I well remember the Patriots getting annihilated by the Bears in Superbowl XX.

We were so excited.

We were sure the Patriots were going to win.

I still wish I had the Boston Herald copy from that day that was filled from front to back with Patriots-Bears stuff including almost all the ads (my favorite being and ad by a tire place that had a graphic of a teddy bear wearing a sweatband with a no. 9 on it for Jim McMahon and tire tracks like it had been run over by a vehicle).

Unfortunately the excitement turned to dread pretty quickly and the Pats lost by the largest margin in Super Bowl history until that point (thankfully that record was broken when the 49ers demolished the Broncos 55-10 in Super Bowl XXIV).  The lowest point was when William “Refrigerator” Perry ran in a touchdown (and they say the Pats rub it in now, they weren’t the first)

If you had asked me to name some of the Bears players today, I could name four of them, Jim McMahon, Walter Payton, Mike Singletary, and William “Refrigerator” Perry.  But I recognized Dave Duerson’s name when I read it and definitely his picture when I saw it (I remember faces much better than names).

I was saddened to read that he committed suicide.  I have to remind myself, often that the game of football that I love so much comes with consequences to those that play it.  That he even took the time to text his loved ones to have his brain sent for study after he was dead and shot himself in the chest (not always a surefire way to kill yourself) tells me that he knew there was something terribly wrong.

I don’t know much about his life or who he was as a person, but what saddened me even more wasn’t the comments accompanying the article by PFT on MSNBC, they were respectful, but that anyone could choose thumbs down on any of the comments.  I just don’t get it.

I have learned over many years of being on the internet that people can be downright nasty when they don’t have to look them in the face.  I have with a few exceptions always tried to only write what I would say to someone’s face.  I guess it is the anonymity that allows people to be mean or downright nasty.

But I guess that is just me.  If any of you read this, what do you think?

About colorinfusion

I am an artist living in Boise, ID. I am a Boston girl at heart and have strong opinions on many things (who doesn't). I am married and two small dogs allow us to share the home with them.
This entry was posted in Chicago Bears, Football, New England Patriots, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

